Home » Uncategorized » Planned Parenthood

Planned Parenthood

I’m sick of people assuming that all Planned Parenthood does is provide abortions. I’ve been using Planned Parenthood services since I was 18 and my father, who consummated me on a one night stand, cut off my health insurance to make his wife happy.

If it wasn’t for Planned Parenthood I would have never had access to affordable birth control and I would have wound up like my mother, jobless with 4 kids who were taken away from her because she turned to drugs. She had no chance to control her life after having 4 kids from 4 different men. Now, I would have never been that sexually active, but that is also thanks to the bits of sex education I received in seventh grade from my science teacher, a man who felt obligated to the youth before him to let them know how babies are really made, and warned young girls not to get into certain situations with boys.

Planned Parenthood provided me my first ever pap smear as well as my first year of birth control for free, something my aunt (who adopted me from my mother) could never have helped me with.

Thank you OBAMA for sticking up for women!!

–Additional Statement:

Now that I have switched the focus of my blog from altogether un-thought out pieces into much more aggressive and confident writing, I have wanted to change this post. However, I have decided to maintain this post as it was because I stand behind the statement either way.

I realize that it is incredibly personal and puts a spotlight on some of my less favorable history, but I also realize that it takes real life stories to begin to change public opinion.

If having my private business out there manages to change even a single person’s perception of Planned Parenthood, then it was worth it. The real point I was getting at, is that Planned Parenthood provides the Have Nots with opportunities to control their lives. Human beings are not going to stop having sex. Regardless of whether they can afford to care for a child or not, human beings need sex in their lives. With new technologies, infant mortality continues to become scarcer (fortunately!), therefore survival of the fittest no longer applies. It is imperative that our society provide everyone with equal opportunity to choose when and how they want to have their family.

Babies are a gift, but sometimes gifts cannot be accepted because they’re just out of our league at the time.

I have never needed abortion services (thank God) and also thanks to the preventative measures provided to me by Planned Parenthood, including birth control, education, and health checks.

One thought on “Planned Parenthood

  1. Thank you for sharing your personal story, Charity. It is heartbreaking to know that there are children out there that are not afforded the opportunity to live their lives to the fullest just because their parents somehow messed up. It is good to see that you were able to rise up from this circumstance and make a better person out of yourself. It makes me mad to see that there are people with all of the resources in the world yet they choose to squander them.

    As for myself, I have never have had sex before (imagine that at my age). I was never too good with the opposite sex and if there were any chances I ever had, I sure missed them. If I were presented with the opportunity to have sex in high school, I sure would have done it. i would have just indiscriminately banged any girl I thought was attractive (I was an idiot in high school). Luckily, I went to an all guy’s school so that presented no problem for me. Now, I realize that you just can’t do that. You just can’t. Its not practical, its not sensible, and it can be ethically wrong. Even I know sex within a loving relationship is the best context. At least if you have a kid, then both people will probably be willing to stick around.

    I’ve never had any qualms with Planned Parenthood. The right tries to paint them as a radical leftist organization dedicated to destroying life. That simply isn’t true. Without PP, a lot of people would be in some terrible situations right now. Abortions make up a small part of their budget, the rest is dedicated to contraceptives and preventative education.

    Good post.

Leave a Reply

